Overcoming Impostor Syndrome as a Photographer

This post has really struck a chord with me and I thought I would share it.

I have thought of myself as an impostor for a very long time. Firstly in my previous job in social media. It was an industry that I loved being a part of but was in constant fear that I would be found out as a wannabe. A crap wannabe in fact. The constant fear of being found out paralysed me and the doubt took over. Eventually I was beaten down and left. The only thing I had left was photography.

Even now I find it hard to call myself a photographer even though I take photos, have studied photography and take an active interest in the medium. I feel I’m a liar whenever I say I’m a photographer. I view myself as just a person that enjoys taking photos.

The blog talks about comparison and I’m certainly am guilty about that. On a good day, I use it as inspiration; to push myself to become better at taking photos.

More often than not though, I use it as a stick to beat myself up about my lack of talent, lack of imagination or not being where I feel I should be. Comparison is certainly the death of joy. It’s not fun when you put yourself down all the time.

I haven’t quite figured out how to defeat the feeling of being a wannabe photographer (tips gratefully received) but I’ve been making myself take a step back and realise there are people who are always going to better than myself. That’s just life.

As Jen H says: ‘If people love your art, believe them. Give yourself permission to love it too.’

The Daily Post

There is an unsettling, nagging worry that accompanies impostor syndrome, that somehow, someday, someone is going to find out that you’re a great big phony.

Impostor syndrome is the pervasive feeling that you’re faking your way through success, and that your achievements are attributable only to good luck. There is an unsettling, nagging worry that accompanies impostor syndrome, that somehow, someday, someone is going to find out that you’re a great big phony. That you’re really not as really good as you’ve cleverly convinced people that you are. That you’re a fraud.

In today’s post, I’ve decided to focus on impostor syndrome in the photography community, but everything herein can be easily extrapolated onto any professional field or any creative pursuit. I’ve collected some thoughts from a few of the I Heart FacesCreative Team; Amandalynn Jones and Julie Rivera, as well as Texas photographer Karyn Kelbaugh

View original post 973 more words

2 thoughts on “Overcoming Impostor Syndrome as a Photographer

  1. Some lovely Photographs and this is a very true feeling i get about my life sometimes. I love taking pictures and then will see some else taken at the same time and can’t help but compare. i need to ignore the inner voice telling me i’m a fake and trust that my view is different not worse.

Leave a Reply

