The Book: project inspired by The Fault in Our Stars

I was recently set a project from an online photography course I’m doing. The brief was to create a three photos inspired by a book given to me. I had no choice in the book and was duly handed the Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Luckily for me, I had already read the book some months previous and really enjoyed it. To say that I found this book emotional is an understatement! I have never had so many tears roll down my face.

In essence, the book is a tragic love story about terminally ill teenagers. There is death. There is love. There is cancer and an adventure to Amsterdam. It’s not all doom and gloom though. There are some lighter moments in the book, I promise. By the end, I thought of the characters as friends and the ending devastated me. It’s not a book I’d normally read, nor the subject matter something I would tackle in photography but it certainly made me think.

The book is packed with lots of quotes which helped me decide how I was going approach the photos. I pulled out three of my favourites and created an image to represent each one.

Do let me know what you think in the comment section below.

SarahRajabalee-3

‘Depression is not a side effect of cancer. Depression is a side effect of dying.’

SarahRajabalee-2

‘It’s a metaphor, see: you put the killing thing between your teeth but you don’t give it the power to do it’s killing.’

SarahRajabalee-1

‘I’m on a rollercoaster that only goes up, friend.’

Leave a Reply

